Left alliance paints JNU red again

JNU election
Photo by M Jaseem-Ul Haque

The unanimous verdict at JNU has once again brought the Students Federation of India (SFI) into the limelight of national politics.

The united-Left alliance led by SFI has swept all four seats in the JNU Union Election 2017, pushing ABVP to the second position with considerable margin.

Despite the high-decibel campaign put forth by the ABVP, the premium institution in India declared that the saffron wing has a long way to go to bust the red bastion.

United Left candidate Geeta Kumari is elected as the President by defeating Nidhi Tripathi of ABVP by 464 votes.
AISA’s Simone Zoya Khan won the Vice President post with 1,876 defeating Durgesh Kumar of ABVP who secured 1028 votes.

Duggirala Srikrisha of Left front is elected as the General Secretary with 2082 votes. Srikrisha defeated  ABVP’s Nikunj Makwana who secured 975 votes.

Shubhanshu Singh of Left front won as Joint Secretary with 1755 votes, defeating Pankaj Keshari of ABVP, who got 920 votes.
Winners attributed the achievement as the victory of democracy. Some of the comrades tweeted the verdict as the tribute to Gouri Lankesh.